Leave a comment

A Series of Profiled Students-Laura Hanna

Laura Hanna is a VSU and Honors College Alumni who recently received one of only 147 Phi Kappa Phi’s Love of Learning award for 2013.

Who: Laura Hanna

What:

English Tutor at Student Success Center

Editor for Political Science Department

Poetry Co-editor Odradek

President of Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society

Student Vice President of Phi Kappa Phi

Co-President of Pi Gamma Mu International Honor Society

Golden Key International Honor Society

Honors Student Association

Auburn University’s English Graduate Association

About The Love of Learning Award: The Love of Learning Award helps to fund post-bachelorette studies for Phi Kappa Phi members. 147 of these awards are granted per year, nationwide, and the award is used to help fund graduate or professional studies, doctoral dissertations, continuing education, career development, and travel related to teaching/studies. Members of Phi Kappa Phi who wish to be considered for the award must go through an application process. 

How Did You Feel: “I was quite surprised, actually; hundreds of well-qualified and deserving students applied for this award. To be counted among such students is so humbling and such an honor. I am so thankful.”

Graduated: I graduated from Valdosta State University in May 2013.

Degree Held: I currently hold a Bachelor of Arts in English, with a concentration in literature.

Major: English

Minor: Political Science

Next Step: I am currently a graduate student at Auburn University, earning a Master of Arts in English with a concentration in literature. I also lead two undergrad American literature discussion sections as part of my teaching assistantship. ? I intend to teach English at the postsecondary level.

Hobbies:  I love spending time with family and friends, going to church, cooking, reading, writing, and listening to music.

Favorite Book: My favorite book is Mere Christianity, by C.S. Lewis. Larry Levis is also one of my favorite poets.

Favorite Quote: I actually have a manila folder that’s fat with my favorite quotes. But my favorite, favorite is: “We can do no great things, only small things with great love.” –Mother Theresa.

Influence of VSU Honors College: The VSU Honors College has most definitely helped me to reach my academic goals. I am sincerely thankful for my time at VSU and for VSU’s Honors College. The professors who teach in the Honors College (and all the professors who I have ever met at VSU) are all so amazing, and I look up to each of them. The Honors courses I took helped to shape me into the graduate student I am today. The freedom to explore new ideas and to be innovative in these classes made me love being a college student even more. The professors who taught these Honors classes amplified my desire to learn and made me want to be a professor just like them one day.

The students in the Honors College are also wonderful. Some of my dearest memories at VSU were made because of the Honors College and because of all the beautiful people I became friends with through the Honors College (it was actually the Honors Program when I was still an undergrad).

 

Last Note: I hope you are all loving your time as college students! The saying is true—time really does fly— so try to find the joy in every moment!

Leave a Reply

